Use me again….

Are you new to recycled clothing? I most certainly am.  Well I will admit to having had an eye for the fabulous since I was quite young. In fact I have been raiding my mothers closet for her forgotten 70’s wardrobe for years: the ultra cool hand painted wooden bangles, suede bags and patchwork jackets do wonders for a white cashmere sweater and dark jeans.

  Well, last week after returning from a golf lesson, my mother and I decided to indulged in a little retail therapy and ended up at our local Goodwill.  No, there was not any fast playing techno, hip visual window displays or cheeky sales associates folding  crewnecks and stacking the latest sandblasted denim.  However, it did look like the aftermath of the storm in terms of neatness; residing on the lowest scale end of glamour. When therapy was mentioned I’d imagined perusing through sample sale racks in the little boutiques along Highland  and picking up a few model size dresses to squeeze into.  But here I was at high noon, on a Saturday watching; recycled clothing, furniture and electronics being picked over, plugged in and tried on and taken off, twice.  Yet, something told me this wasn’t just the kind of place where seniors on a budget go to get their shopping fix.  In fact, I spotted two set designers picking out vases and pictures for a video shoot and a  tall, lanky yoga enthusiast holding a meditation mat and practicing his “posture” while in line, with his eyes closed. *blank stare*wooden bangles with oyster shell /bronze inlay

 

Well, imagine my surprise when I looked at the room with a soft focus lense and discovered hidden in the rubble; a vintage Kimonos for under twenty dollars, a funky patchwork wool blazer by Parisian designer,Claudie Pierlot for ten (pictured below), a Vintage Lucie Lowen suede clutch with gold zipper  for only five and amazing wooden bangles with oyster and bronze inlay for six bucks a piece (shown above).  As my grandmother would say, you could have knocked me over with a feather. 

Not only is recycled clothing an eco-friendly way of dressing but it also reduces the size of landfills.  About 11 million tons of clothing are tossed each year and manufacturing waste from denim is often dumped into our dwindling water supply.                  

Vintage is chic, healthy for our environment and a great way to add distinctly unique pieces to your wardrobe without breaking the bank. Fabulous finds at those prices scream, “Use me again!”

About Shakonda

I love vintage fashion, natural recipes, music and art as well as discovering new ways to use old things. Roots and Berries gives an eco-friendly perspective on fashion, beauty, art and health whenever possible while connecting with people and artists on a grass-roots level.

One response to “Use me again….

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

