The Early Bird Gets The Most Fabulous Picks…..

Once I have my morning cup of coffee or green tea at 6:30 a.m.  I am literally, the nosiest person in the world.  On week days, my fix can only be soothed by browsing the internet for the latest information and commenting on other people’s blogs.  But, on Saturdays while the party animals are sleeping off last nights shots; I am up and ready to hit the streets in search of something interesting.

There is only one thing I love more than stumbling upon a $1 dollar estate sale in a ritzy neighborhood (a la Angela Bassett in Waiting to Exhale) and that’s a multifamily yard sale with great items for only a buck.  So once I found one being publicized, I set off with my navigation system guiding me to what hoped to be a fabulous find.  Unfortunately, when I arrived I saw the dreaded “YARD SALE CANCELLED” sign posted on the grass *I seriously got misty eyed*.   I circled off the block and (through my tears..lol) spotted another sign leading me to another sale and then another.

I believe a yard sale is one of the best ways to find quality items to spruce up your home at fabulous prices.  Today’s first find was only fourteen dollars. This great heavy wood table, was promptly taken home and placed in one corner of my living room where it really highlights the beauty of my beloved aloe vera plant.

My second find were three Moroccan influenced heavy metal containers etched with a leaf design; I paid four dollars for the set.  While they would certainly add a bit of panache to any living room, I like to think out of the box.  Perhaps, after they are cleaned I will use them to store flour, beans and oats in the kitchen.  They would certainly look great in the bathroom as a home for my: Himalayan bath salts, oil beads and bath teas.  Hmmm…. only time will tell where I will use these babies.

                                                                                                                                                                

I always meet some of the most interesting people on my early morning adventures and today was no exception.  My final stop was a yard sale given by two divas: Kelly Lyans and Dana Lazzareschi, Co-Owners and Directors of a company called Funky Divas.  These ladies have many celebrity clients and  were featured on E! Entertainment, when Lisa Rinna (from Dancing with the Stars, Soap Talk, and Days of Our Lives) had her, assistant Ninie, book a Funky Divas Birthday Party for her 2 little girls.  These busy ladies teach dance to elementary students at afterschool programs, choreograph for television commercials, do summer camps and birthday parties and give a great yardsale.

  Needless to say they had some really amazing items which were being snatched up like hotcakes: Bags from Gwen Stephani’s L.A.M.B., a gorgeous silk duvet set, super hot party shoes, a burnt orange vintage leather jacket, a laptop,  Juicy Couture  sweat suits and tons of girls dance costumes going for just five dollars a set to name a few. 

Of course I snagged a few cool items: A Hawaiian coral necklace for a dollar and a practically new turquoise and gold top from Lucca Couture for only a buck, as well.  As I was leaving, I spotted a shimmer of gold on the grass and quickly started towards it thinking I had finally struck gold I began looking through a pile of really great horse hair platforms, golden tanks and a  beaded halter; things I could fit.  Womp, womp!  It was

 quickly confirmed that this fabulous pile was being amassed by some other lucky girl who had gotten there before the yard sale began.  I bounced back to my car, opened the sunroof, and drove away, still happy with my finds.  All in all it was a good day.  Yes, it’s still true what they say about the early bird getting the worm.  But, in this case the early bird gets, the  most fabulous picks.

   

 

 

 

 

 

Until next Time

~Love

About Shakonda

I love vintage fashion, natural recipes, music and art as well as discovering new ways to use old things. Roots and Berries gives an eco-friendly perspective on fashion, beauty, art and health whenever possible while connecting with people and artists on a grass-roots level.

Posted in Uncategorized

Tags:

Permalink Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

